Options de couverture

Qu'elle couverture ai-je besoin?

En tant que optométriste, vous avez besoin d’une assurance responsabilité professionnelle pour les individus pour vous inscrire avec votre ordre de réglementation. Nous savons tous cela, mais les choses deviennent un peu plus compliquées pour les optométristes qui sont des travailleurs autonomes ou des propriétaires d’entreprises.

L’assurance et la responsabilité sont des sujets complexes tels que les offrandes et les police qui les soutiennent. Il est important de comprendre les nuances entre les différentes options d'assurance à votre disposition afin d'identifier la couverture la plus appropriée à votre situation de particulière.

Définition de couverture

  • Responsabilité professionnelle pour les individus

    L’interaction régulière avec les patients fait constamment partie de l’exercice de l’optométrie et a lieu sur une base quotidienne. Compte tenu de ce fait, vous pourriez être confronté à des situations où des patients désirent vous tenir responsable de blessures dont ils jugent avoir été victimes.

    L’assurance responsabilité professionnelle vous protège contre la responsabilité ou des allégations de responsabilité pour des blessures ou des dommages découlant d’un acte de négligence, d’une erreur, d’une omission ou d’une faute professionnelle se rattachant à l’exercice de votre profession d’optométriste.

    Il est important de signaler que l’assurance est souscrite sur la base des réclamations soumises et signalées et qu’elle sera valide durant la période de validité de la police. Cela signifie que la police qui est en place lorsqu’une réclamation est présentée sera la police qui interviendra – sans égard au moment où l’incident s’est produit. Par conséquent, il est extrêmement important qu’il n’y ait aucun laps ni bris de couverture entre les périodes de validité des polices. La couverture doit être continuellement en place afin d’assurer que vous êtes protégé sans interruption.

    Cliquez ici pour plus de détails
  • Responsabilité professionnelle pour clinique

    Dans l’éventualité d’une réclamation, le professionnel traitant (tout professionnel de la santé soumis à la réglementation) et l’entreprise seront probablement cités dans une déclaration de réclamation ou une poursuite judiciaire. L’assurance responsabilité professionnelle pour clinique protège votre entreprise et ses biens dans de telles circonstances. Dans le cadre du Programme d’assurance de l’ACO, votre couverture de responsabilité professionnelle pour les individus est élargie pour inclure les sociétés de portefeuille et les sociétés professionnelles – ce qui signifie que vous n’avez pas besoin de souscrire une assurance responsabilité professionnelle additionnelle pour la clinique afin d’obtenir cette protection.

    5 000 000$ par réclamation/ 5 000 000$ par année
    Prime de 75$ pour chaque professionnel des soins de la santé réglementé
    (sans frais pour les demandeurs)

  • Responsabilité commerciale générale

    L’assurance responsabilité commerciale générale offre une protection contre les réclamations découlant de blessures ou de dommages matériels que vous (ou votre entreprise) peuvent causer à une autre personne en raison de vos activités et/ou des lieux (par exemple, un patient peut glisser sur un plancher mouillé et se blesser).

    Cette protection offerte exclusivement aux membres est recommandée pour les membres de l’ACO qui sont propriétaires ou gestionnaires de cliniques. La couverture est aussi recommandée pour les travailleurs autonomes qui offrent leurs services sur une base contractuelle ou qui facturent sous le nom de leur entreprise.

  • Forfait multirisque d’entreprise

    Cette police, qui est offerte exclusivement aux membres de l’ACO, procure une protection d’assurance pour les membres qui exploitent une entreprise. Forfait multirisque d’entreprise fournit une assurance qui protège votre bureau et son contenu contre les pertes associées aux dommages matériels (comme les incendies) et aux vols et détournements. Elle procure aussi une couverture au cas où votre entreprise ferait l’objet d’une poursuite pour des blessures corporelles subies par un tiers qui se produisent dans votre lieu de travail. L’assurance responsabilité commerciale générale, l’assurance sur les biens et l’assurance vols et détournements sont fournies afin d’assurer une protection complète pour votre entreprise.

    L’assurance responsabilité commerciale générale offre une protection contre les réclamations découlant de blessures ou de dommages matériels que vous (ou votre entreprise) peuvent causer à une autre personne en raison de vos activités et/ou de votre lieu de travail (par exemple, un patient peut glisser sur un plancher mouillé et se blesser).

    L’assurance sur les biens protège contre les dommages causés au contenu, y compris l’équipement médical, et la perte de revenu causée par une interruption des activités commerciales découlant d’une perte assurée.

    L’assurance vols et détournements protège contre les pertes financières attribuables à la malhonnêteté, à la fraude ou au vol d’argent, de titres ou d’autres biens appartenant au bureau ou à la clinique

  • Assurance pour bâtiment

    Les optométristes qui possèdent le bâtiment dans lequel leur clinique(s) se trouvent, aurons des considérations d'assurance supplémentaires. La couverture pour bâtiment assure les briques et le mortier de votre propriété, vous protéger contre la perte ou les dommages causés par un large éventail de causes, y compris les catastrophes naturelles et d'autres menaces pour les opérations commerciales, telles que le vandalisme.

  • Cybersécurité et atteinte à la vie privée

    Cette assurance est l'un des risques les plus croissants, et les professionnels de la santé ne sont pas immunisés. Les participants sont maintenant admissibles à acheter une couverture complète en matière de responsabilité cybersécurité et atteinte à la vie privée pour protéger contre les réclamations découlant d'un vol , la perte ou la divulgation non autorisée d'informations personnelles identifiables d'un tiers . La couverture est conçue pour gérer le risque de détenir de plus en plus grandes quantités de données personnelles identifiables des clients, des employés , et d'autres, et pour atténuer les dommages à la réputation résultant d'une atteinte à la sécurité.

    Cliquez ici pour plus de détails
  • Responsabilité liée aux pratiques d’emploi

    Avez vous des employés administratifs et / ou professionnels? Votre clinique engage t’elle des : travailleurs autonomes, des bénévoles ou des étudiants? Protégez vous et votre entreprise contre les allégations d’infractions aux pratiques d’emploi, notamment le congédiement injustifié, la discrimination, le harcèlement en milieu de travail et d’autres situations avec l’assurance liée aux pratiques d’emploi.

    Cliquez ici pour plus de détails

Practice Risk Solutions

Coverage

What Coverage Do I need?

As an optometrist, you require Individual Professional Liability insurance to register with your regulatory College. We all know that. But things get a bit more complicated for optometrists who are independent contractors or business owners.

Insurance and liability are complex subjects as are the offerings and policies that support them. It is important to understand the differences between the different insurance options available to you in order to identify the most appropriate coverage for your practice circumstances.


Coverage Definitions

  • Professional Liability

    Regular interaction with patients is a consistent part of any optometric practice and is a daily occurrence. With this in mind, you may face situations where your patients look to hold you responsible for injuries they deem to have received.

    Professional Liability insurance protects you against liability or allegations of liability for injury or damages that have resulted from a negligent act, error, omission, or malpractice that has arisen out of your professional capacity as an optometrist.

    It is important to note that coverage is afforded on a “claims-made and reported” basis and will respond to claims made during the policy period. This means that the policy which is in place when a claim is made will be the policy to respond – regardless of when the incident occurred. Therefore, it is extremely important there is no lag or gap in coverage between policy periods. Coverage needs to be continuously in place to ensure you are continuously protected.

    Click here for more information
  • Clinic Professional Liability

    In the event of a claim alleging negligence or malpractice, both the treating professional (any regulated health professional) and the business are likely to be named in a statement of claim or lawsuit. Clinic Professional Liability Insurance protects the business and its assets in such circumstances.

    If you are a sole proprietor, this coverage is included at no additional cost and your individual PLI policy will automatically extend to cover your business name. However, this coverage is recommended if you have employees and/or contractors working for or on behalf of your business and/or billing under your business name.

    Please note that this coverage should be purchased by one individual on behalf of all business owners and / or the business entity. Coverage limits are shared between yourself and your business name and are subject to an additional premium of $75 per regulated health professional (no charge for opticians).

  • Commercial General Liability

    Commercial General Liability insurance provides coverage to protect against claims arising from injury or property damage that you (or your business) may cause to another person as a result of your operations and/or premises (for example, a patient may slip and fall on a wet floor and injure themselves).

    This member-exclusive coverage is recommended for CAO members who own or operate clinics. Coverage is also recommended for independent practitioners who contract out their services or bill under their business name.

  • Business Package

    This CAO member-exclusive policy provides insurance coverage for members who are operating a business. The Business Package provides coverage to protect your office and the contents within from losses associated with property damage (such as fire) and crime. It also provides coverage if your business is sued for bodily injuries to a third party that occur within your workplace. Included are Commercial General Liability coverage, Property Insurance and Crime protection to ensure comprehensive coverage for your business.

    Commercial General Liability insurance provides coverage to protect against claims arising from injury or property damage that you (or your business) may cause to another person as a result of your operations and/or premises (for example, a patient may slip and fall on a wet floor and injure themselves).

    Property coverage protects against damage to contents, including medical equipment, and loss of revenues caused by an interruption of business activities arising from an insured loss.

    Crime coverage protects against financial loss due to dishonesty, fraud; or theft of money, securities or other property owned by the office/clinic.

  • Building Coverage

    Optometrists who own the building in which their clinic(s) are located have additional insurance considerations. Building coverage insures the bricks and mortar of your property, protecting you against loss or damage from a broad range of causes, including natural disasters and other threats to business operations, such as vandalism.

  • Cyber Security & Privacy Liability

    Cyber liability is one of the fastest growing areas of risk, and healthcare professionals are not immune. Participants are now eligible to purchase comprehensive Cyber Security and Privacy Liability coverage to protect against claims arising out of theft, loss, or unauthorized disclosure of a third party’s personally identifiable information. Coverage is designed to manage the risk of holding increasingly large quantities of personally identifiable data of clients, employees, and others, and to mitigate the reputational damage resulting from a data security breach.

    Click here for more information
  • Employment Practices Liability

    Do you employ administrative and/or professional staff? Does your clinic engage independent contractors, volunteers, or students? EPL coverage protects you and your business against allegations of employment practice violation, including wrongful termination, discrimination, workplace harassment, and other employment related allegations with Employment Practices Liability insurance.

    Click here for more information
  • Legal Services

    Specialized legal advice for personal and/or business matters.

    For $30/year - CAO members now have access to:

    Unlimited Telephone Legal Advice
    Unlimited access to a confidential 24/7 toll-free line to speak with a lawyer about any legal issue, both personal and professional. Upon calling, you will be connected with a lawyer who is geographically close to you and who is an expert in the area of law you are calling about.

    150+ Legal Documents and templates online, anytime you need them
    Take advantage of an online library of customizable templates and up-to-date legal documents that have been drafted by lawyers. The document library includes employment contracts, partnership agreements, loan agreements, promissory notes, and more.

    Legal Document Reviews
    Lawyers will review your short legal documents (e.g. contracts) or legal letters and can draft simple legal letters on your behalf.

    ID Theft Case Management Service
    If you fall victim to identity theft, the Legal Services package provides access to an identity restoration lawyer to help resolve the matter.

  • 24 Hour Accident Insurance

    Although we don't like to think about it, accidents can happen. If the accident is serious enough to limit your ability to work, you may be faced with financial stressors in addition to physical ones. This coverage is designed to provide you and your loved ones with financial assistance in the event of an accident that results in injury or death.

    24 Hour Accident Insurance provides a lump sum benefit where:

    • a loss or death occurs due to an Accident, and
    • where, as the result of accidental injury, the disablement results in a permanent total disability

    The policy also provides coverage for:

    • Repatriation costs, and
    • Rehabilitation (training) costs should you require special training in order to be qualified to engage in a different occupation following an insured accident